Rules Q&A

This is a more thorough rules Q&A that I have compiled from the CPG website, the forums at the BGG, and personal e-mail correspondences with Marshall Barrington (Supremacy 2020’s Commander in Chief).   It’s a lot of “cut & paste” with minimal editing for clarity or brevity.  The answers are 99.9% Marshall’s exact words.
This is not an official document, but it has Marshall’s approval:

“Yes, this looks pretty good”
-Marshall Barrington

Errata

Page 5, the last bullet point under Naval Operations should read:

“The Attacker’s Navies identified in an operation can make 1 move before Fire at no additional resource cost.  They can pick up and drop off identified Armies”

This change was made during development but was not updated in later rules documents.

Rules Questions

Set Up

Q:  During set up, if players do not wish to place simultaneously, do they chose and place 1 unit at a time, or place all 9 before passing to the next player?

A:  They place all their forces at once.  Rotating 1 at a time might be a fun option but it takes longer.

Q:  If I get a tech card in my starting hand does that mean I start with that technology?

A:  No.  This card does not count.  Return it to the deck and draw a replacement.

Turn Order

Q:  Is the player order set for the whole round or do you draw a new turn order for each phase of the round?

A:  You draw 1 at a time as you play through the phase.  So you don’t know who is going to attack or trade next.  You do know who has already gone and who is left to pull from.  This order is only for that phase.  The next phase, you pull all over again with a fresh start.

Q:  What happens when multiple players have simultaneous options but can’t agree on who acts 1st?

A:  Usually it doesn’t matter too much and people shift things around a little.  If it does become contentious and critical, any player can force this to be done in order and by official chit pull.  -no adjustments later.

Loans & Bonds

Q:  I’m confused about interest.  How does it work exactly?  What determines interest?

A:  This sounds intimidating at first but it is very easy once you see how it works.  What determines interest?  The amount of loans or bonds as shown on the Strategic Reserve Card.  So lets say you have 10 TL in debt.  Every Salary Phase you must pay 1.8 TL (1800 BL) in interest to the bank.  Bonds work the same way in reverse.  If you have 6 bonds, the bank  will pay you .7 TL (700 BL) every Salary Phase.

Q:  Can you have bonds and loans at the same time? 

A:  I suppose you could have both.  I don’t think it would hurt anything.

Q:  The rules say that players may buy and sell bonds at any time.  Does this have the effect of generating free money as a player can buy a bond just before interest on the bonds is awarded and then immediately sell the bond to get the cash back?

A:  During Salaries, you collect income on bonds you held for an entire turn.  If you buy them at the last second, you don’t collect interest.

Blockades & Seizure

Q:  Do blockading players keep the resources they take from the blockaded player, or are they simply lost?

A:  Yes, you take them, put them on your Strategic Reserve Card, and can use them.

Q:  What if you wait until I pay the salaries on the company, then you seize it?  Who gets the resources then?

A:  You can seize companies at any time but  but if the owner pays the salaries, he still keeps the recorded production for that turn.  So you could seize at the beginning of the Salaries Phase or at the end.  The point being: whoever pays the salaries, keeps the production.

Trade

Q:  Can you trade company cards as part of a deal?  This came up in the 1st round of the game since 2 players each had companies near the other homelands.

A:  Yes, you can buy, sell, trade, give cards to players.  The key thing to remember here is you can only do this during Private Trades.

Q:  Dealing (table talk) during the Salary Phase or the Trade Phase?  i.e. Private Trades is the only time when deals can be made? 

A:  Table talk is always allowed and encouraged.  Private trades can only happen at the end of a Trade Phase.  You can’t be in the middle of attacking someone and decide you need more oil now.  You are limited to only what you have on your Strategic Reserve Card then.

Naval Operations & Invasions

Q:  I want to Invade an area that is more than 1 sea move away.  Can I do that? 

A:  Yes.  2 ways.  First, you could load up and move your Navies into position during the Redeployment Phase.  Next turn, you can attack and invade.  During the Combat Phase, the activated Navies may make another move before they unload.
The other way is to activate and move your Navies with loaded Armies as an attack.  When the attack is complete, simply activate them again for your next attack.

Q:  During an invasion, when do Transports revert to being Navies?  Does that happen after all 3 operations are completed?  Or does it happen after the operation where the troops are landed is resolved?

A:  After all 3 operations are complete.  Armies are considered to be on the beach for the invasion battle, so you can’t kill them y sinking the Transport anymore.

Q:  The act of loading troops onto a ship counts as an operation, but what if the troops were already on the ship?  Is it still an operation to initiate invasion, or can we just travel to the destination and have potentially 3 operations when we get there?

A:  1 operation to move the Navies already at sea with Armies on them.  1 operation for the Armies to land somewhere and attack.  So you would have 1 operation left over to do something with.

Q:  When an activated Navy makes “1 move before combat”, are they limited in range, or can they move as far as they want (oil permitting)?

A:  They are limited to 1 regular move meaning 3 spaces.  It doesn’t cost oil for the Navy to move.  That was paid for with the attack.  You can’t spend extra oil to move further.

Q:  I guess “1 move” is meant to limit the each unit to the range allowed by spending 1 resource.  Does this limit also apply during Redeployment?

A:  Yes.

Q:  I’m a little confused.  It talks about Naval Combat under the Combat Phase, but then later under Redeploy Phase the rules state that Navies can only enter unoccupied sea areas.  ??

A:  Yes, your Navies can’t enter occupied sea areas but this applies only to redeployments (including reinforcement).  All combat must happen during the Combat Phase.  This is where you enter enemy controlled seas to fight.

Q:  Can you move a Navy/Transport during an attack as an operation, but NOT attack with it? 

A:  It is best to follow this strictly by the rules.  So no.  You must attack if it is during the Combat Phase.

Q:  If enemy Navies move through my sea area, can I stop them?

A:  Yes, but remember this happens during the attack phase.  Another player cannot enter a sea area containing your Navies during the Redeploy Phase.  If they move into your area during attack, you can let them sail through unharmed.  You may also “stop” them and force a Naval Combat by declaring that you contest control.  Your option, however the opposing player may declare to contest control on you and force you to fight while he is there.

Q:  When control of a sea zone is contested, can a inactive Navies side with the active player (firing at other inactive navies)?

A:  Yes, they can contest control and fire at any player they want.

Q:  If more than 1 player participates in contesting control of a sea area, how are casualties determined?  Does each player choose which opponent(s) they are firing at, and those players choose their own casualties?

A:  Yes.

Q:  Can a Navy traveling from point A to point B “contest” control control over a sea against someone who is already there?  Given that this combat automatically goes into a version of “blitz” mode, where it does not end until both players decide not to contest anymore, this seems over-powered.

A:  Yes, you can “fight through” with Navies.  So let’s say I’m trying to invade somebody.  You have a Navy in one of the sea areas along the way.  I could fight a few rounds there to wipe you out along the way and then continue along with my invasion.

Q:  When does a player have to announce that they are contesting control over the sea?

A:  Any time they want.  The players can negotiate before, during, or afterwards.  They could announce the contest, negotiate, then call off the fight.  We always allow for lots of talk and diplomacy.  -at least until dice start rolling.

Conventional Attack

Q:  Can you clarify what is meant by simultaneous fire?

A:  Yes!  In some games, the defender ires first.  Then you apply losses to the attacker before the attacker gets to fire.  Not here.  Both sides fire at once.  After all the rolls, then apply losses to both sides.

Q:  Once an attack is declared, is everyone committed to it?
Example:  Player A declares they will do a 3x blitz of their 8 armies against player B’s 5 armies.  After the first operation, player A loses 5 armies and player B doesn’t lose any.  Now it’s 3 to 5, and player B has more ABMs.
Can player A abandon the attack, or does he have to send his troops into the grinder?

A:  Yes, you can call off the attack.  The operations are still “wasted” on that though.  You can’t suddenly decide to use the remaining operation somewhere else. 

Q:  After a player counter-attacks, does the player they attacked also get a counter-attack? 

A:  Yes!  Yes!  Yes!
So, after all the chains of counter-attacks are done, play reverts back to the player that was pulled to attack.  That player can continue making attacks until he is unable to attack or he passes.  Then you randomly pull for the next player to start attacking.

Strategic Attack

Q:  Can a player nuke their own home city?

A:  No, this is pretty gamey.  The game is more fun and interesting if you try to think of it in real world terms.

Q:  If multiple nukes are detonated in a single area, does this count as multiple nuclear land detonations, or only 1?

A:  Good question.  This does happen, especially when somebody has ABMs and players are launching multiple ICBMs.
A destroyed land area only counts as 1 detonation even if hit with multiple ICBMs.  After ABMs fire, just place 1 mushroom cloud in the area if it was destroyed.
Also, remember that sea areas do not count towards this so you don’t place clouds at sea.

Q:  The rules say ABMs shoot down ICBMs on 2-6, but the rule summary sheets says they miss on 1-2.  Which is correct?

A:  The summary sheet is meant as a shorthand summary.
ABMs miss on 1 while defending their own area.
Miss on 1-2 when defending someone else.
The summary means 1 or 2 depending on the situation.  It’s to jog your memory of the rule.  -sorry for the confusion.

Q:  Can ABMs fire at other ABMs?

A:  No.  They are considered ground based now and only defensive.  If players all agree, it is still pretty easy to play by the old L-Star rules and allow this.  It is kind of a fun option.

Q:  Can we still do Space Bursts?

A:  The satellite laser defense system was a fantasy of the 80s.  It’s not very feasible even today.  Missile defense has mostly developed as ground based systems.  Still, this can be a fun rule.  Players can easily use this if they all agree ahead of time.

Reinforcement & Redeployment

Q:  Does it cost oil to transport troops if the transporting Navy stays in a single sea area?

A:  Only if you are doing this as Redeployment/Reinforcement.  If it is part of an invasion, the oil has already been paid for with the set of supplies for the attack.

Q:  If you want to load Armies onto a boat during Redeploy, but don’t plan on moving the Navy, does it still cost an oil?

A:  Well, theoretically you would have to spend the oil but why would you do that if you are not moving or attacking?

Q:  Can Navies move through sea areas while transporting armies?

A:  Yes, and they can remain at sea with the armies for longer distance moves.

Q:  Can Navies Redeploy into a sea area occupied by only friendly units?

A:  Yes, friendly Navies are okay.

Research

Q:  What happens to company cards that are nuked?  Remove them from the game?

A:  No.  Return these to the deck.  They become dead cards also.  You must pay for them, but you can’t use them.
For example, if you are researching minerals and you pull a “nuked” mineral card, you must pay for it and your attempt fails.  Return it to the deck.

Q:  Once all players have ICBMs, should we remove those cards from the deck?

A:  No.  Leave these in the deck.  In effect they are dead cards.  You must pay for them while drawing but they have no effect.

Arms Sales

Q:  If a player sells armies to another Superpower, does it cost resources to move those armies to their new home?

A:  Yes, this is part of the deal.  Somebody has to pay to move them.  We move them to a home city controlled by the buyer.  At that point, we switch the colors.

Q:  If a player sells Navies to another Superpower, can they be moved, or are they bought as-is where they are?

A:  Same as above.  They shouldn’t switch color until they reach a port:  a sea area adjacent to a controlled home area of the buyer.

Q:  If a player wants to sell Navies, can another player void the sale by blocking the movement of those Navies via choke points?

A:  Yes!

Q:  If you give a player an ICBM can they produce them on their own after that?

A:  No, they must still research them as usual to build their own.

Conquest

Q:  What happen if my last city is nuked but I have conquered an opponent on the same turn?

A:  The player you conquered is out of the game at the end of the Combat Phase.  You are also out at the end of the phase but you get points for what you have left, including the points you got from the conquest.

Q:  I am about to be wiped out by my enemy.  Can I instantly give everything away to my ally before I die?

A:  I know you want to but no.  You can give aid to other players.  You can also sell things.  This has to happen during Private Trade or Arms Sales.  You cannot work any deals during the Attack Phase and conquest happens then.

Ending The Game

Q:  Is the “plus one” added to the Nuclear Winter roll for land detonations cumulative?

A:  Yes, this is cumulative.  So the chances of having a Nuclear Winter go up with each additional strike.

Q:  If I conquer my last remaining opponent, but I’m so debt ridden that my score is actually negative (even after spoils of war), do I still beat the players who were eliminated by conquest?

A:  Yeah, you should beat them with a negative score.  We figure getting nuked out is kind of a cheap shot, so what you have left still counts.  Conquering somebody the old fashioned way is harder, so they are really out if you can pull that off.
We only count points if you are still in when the game is called or your last city is nuked out.

Minor Powers Expansion

Q:  Do you still roll for Minor aAmies if there are Armies present from an Arms Sale?

A:  Yes.  The forces they have from an Arms Sale are in addition to the regular forces they have.

Q:  I just attacked a Minor but failed to conquer them.  What happens to their remaining Armies?  Do we roll for additional Armies when I attack them again?

A:  Just leave any left over Armies in the area.  These are their forces for when they are attacked again.  There is no additional roll for Armies.

Q:  I conquered a Minor Power.  Then I leave.  Can I just move back in later because I already destroyed the Minor’s Armies?

A:  No.  You only control a Minor as long as you have an Army there.  If you leave, the area returns to uncontrolled status.
A Minor that was occupied but now empty contains no Armies for the rest of that turn.  If it stays unoccupied into the next turn, then we figure they have rearmed by then, so we roll again for a random number of Minor Armies if attacked.

Q:  When you attack a Minor Power, you are supposed to add a number of Armies to it determined by a die roll.  This is only done once, so how does one keep track of whether a particular Minor Power was already previously attacked for purposes of knowing whether or not to add the random (die roll) number of Armies to it?

A:  This is usually easy to remember.  If it gets complicated for some reason, you could stand up sold pieces and lay flat starting ones.

 Q:  If a Minor Power has bought Navies, will they contest foreign Navies invading and/or attacking their home?

A:  Yes, they must and will continue to resist until they are destroyed.

Q:  If I attack a Minor that has an ICBM, where do they launch it?

A:  You shouldn’t be attacking a Minor that has an ICBM unless you have at least 1 ABM.  Sometimes desperation forces your hand.  They should attack the home area (of the Superpower that attacked them) with the least point value: cards and forces.  All else being equal they will prefer to strike areas with cities.  Roll a die if still equal.

Q:  Can Navies redeploy into a sea area occupied by a Minor navy?

A:  No.  These are potentially Hostile.

Q:  If I sell forces to a Minor, do I have to spend resources to move them?

A:  If the buyer is a Minor, we assume they pay their own transportation.

Q:  If a player sells Navies to a Minor adjacent to more than 1 sea area, which sea area are the Navies moved to?

A:  The seller moves them.

Fortuna 2020 Expansion

Q:  Do the Minors trade only the resource of the Fortuna players choice, or is the process repeated for each resource?

A:  The Minors will make 1 trade for each resource.

Q:  Do Minors attack the occupying Armies when they revolt?

A:  Yes!  If a Superpower occupies The Minor already, The Minor will revolt against this occupation!  They will build and attack that Superpower.

Q:  If I invade a Minor to fight the Outbreak, Do they roll for Armies then, or only if I attack them?

A:  No, if you go into into a Minor to fight an Outbreak, you are on a humanitarian mission to fight the Infection.  After you clean it, you have one turn to get out.  If you stay longer, you must then declare an attack.  The Minor would then roll and place Armies there and you would fight them.

Q:  By fighting outbreaks. it is possible for my Armies to and Minor Armies to occupy the same area.  What happens if another Superpower attacks that area?  Do the Minor Armies defend with me?

A:  Let’s say you are in Afghanistan fighting an infection.  The Russians move in.  The Russians must destroy you and the random number of Minor Armies to take over and occupy it.

BRIC Expansion

Q:  Does contesting enemy ships for control of a sea area constitute an attack for the purposes of Peace Restrictions and Declarations of War?

A:  Yes because to do this you are attacking allied forces.  That is a Declaration of War.

Terrorist Expansion

Q:  Can company cards controlled by the Terrorist be blockaded?

A:  Yes.  The Terrorist must be able to ship their products out in a big way to sell them.  Yes they could smuggle things out by roads to the black market but this is very slow, tedious, and expensive.  By the time you pull that off, it’s not worth much.  Ask Iran.

Advertisements

Return fire!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s